Here are 5 common myths about grief:

Grief has a timeline

There is no timeline to grief; the grief process is a personal experience and influenced by so many factors. Placing someone who is grieving on a timeline can make their process even worse.

Staying Busy Will Keep the Pain Away

Sooner or later, grief will catch up to you. An individual who is grieving shouldn’t push their feelings off to the side; it is best to deal with feelings of grief right away.

I am Weak if I Cry

Crying helps individuals move through their grief. Experiencing emotional pain leads the bereaved to be able to laugh, smile, and realize how much they loved the person they lost.

There are Stages of Grief

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross made the five stages of grief famous in her 1969 book, On Death and Dying. Kubler-Ross didn’t believe the stages (denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance) were chronological, or that an individual would experience each and every one of them.

Grief Should be Experienced Alone

Grief shouldn’t be experienced alone; there are friends and family around that can help the bereaved and listen to them. Sharing a simple phone call with a friend, or cooking a meal to share will allow the bereaved to surround themselves with loving, compassionate people.